100 years of BC books

“Two literary mavericks appreciated on May 22: publisher & author Howard White (left) and bookseller Don Stewart. Details here.” FULL STORY


Stuart-Stubbs Prize for 2018

March 18th, 2018

The Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize for Outstanding Scholary Book Prize on British Columbia will be awarded in May at UBC’s Irving K. Barber Learning Centre to Marianne Ignace and Ronald E. Ignace for their exploration of Secwépemc history told through Indigenous knowledge and oral traditions.

The Ormsby Review has provided in-depth reviews of the winning title and the two shortlisted titles — see below.

Ronald E. and Marianne Ignace


Dr. Marianne Ignace and Chief Ronald E. Ignace have won the $1,000 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize for outstanding Scholarly Book on British Columbia for their book A Secwépemc People, Land, and Laws: Yerí7 re Stsq’ey’s-kucw. The prize is co-supported by UBC Library and the Pacific BookWorld News Society.

Published by McGill-Queen’s University Press, the book is a model of collaborative approaches to Indigenous history. Drawing on Aboriginal sources and the work of outside experts, it masterfully integrates oral histories and ‘western’ scholarship.

“Our book represents more than thirty years of research about 10,000 years of Secwépemc existence on our land in the Interior of British Columbia,” says Dr. Ignace, “We set our elders’ stories in dialogue with archival sources from outsiders who came to our land, and with multidisciplinary information from earth science, linguistics, archaeology, ecology and geography, weaving together an account of how the Secwépemc came to be as nation through the emergence of our Indigenous laws, and through resilience in the face of colonization.”

“We are thrilled to be honouring a book that synthesizes methods of characterizing Indigenous societies in an exemplary way,” says Susan E. Parker, UBC’s University Librarian. “And we’re so pleased to be recognizing authors from British Columbia.”

Dr. Marianne Boelscher Ignace a is professor of linguistics and First Nations studies at Simon Fraser University. Chief Ronald E. Ignace is a Secwépemc historian, storyteller, and politician, and adjunct professor at Simon Fraser University.

The book is available through the UBC Library Collection and available at the UBC Bookstore for purchase.

The Ormsby Review has provided an in-depth review of the winning title:

Secwépemc history prevails

Shortlisted titles for the prize include:

Kwädąy Dän Ts’ìnchį: Teachings from Long Ago Person Found, Richard J. Hebda, Sheila Greer, and Alexander Mackie, eds (Royal BC Museum Press)


Unbuilt Environments: Tracing Postwar Development in Northwest British Columbia by Jonathan Peyton (UBC Press)

In-depth reviews of these two books are also available via The Ormsby Review.

Long Ago Person Found:

Cold feet in Tatshenshini

Unbuilt Environments:

An academic dissects the energy sector

About the Prize

The Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize for Outstanding Book on British Columbia, sponsored by UBC Library and the Pacific BookWorld News Society, recognizes the best scholarly book published by a Canadian author on a B.C. subject. The book prize was established in memory of Basil Stuart-Stubbs, a bibliophile, scholar and librarian who passed away in 2012. Stuart-Stubbs’s many accomplishments included serving as the University Librarian at UBC Library and as the Director of UBC’s School of Library, Archival and Information Studies. Stuart-Stubbs had a leadership role in many national and regional library and publishing activities. During his exceptional career, he took particular interest in the production and distribution of Canadian books, and was associated with several initiatives beneficial to authors and their readers, and to Canadian publishing.


Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize Winners

Arthur J.Ray

Arthur J.Ray

2017 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize

Winner: Arthur J. Ray: Aboriginal Rights Claims and the Making and Remaking of History (McGill-Queen’s 2016)

Shortlist: Caroline Fox: At Sea with the Marine Birds of the Raincoast (Rocky Mountain Books); Ronald W. Hawker: Yakuglas’ Legacy: The Art and Times of Charlie James (University of Toronto Press).



John Thistle

2016 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize Winner

Winner: John Thistle: Resettling the Range: Animals, Ecologies, and Human Communities in British Columbia (UBC Press).

Shortlist: Lisa Pasolli: Working Mothers and the Child Care Dilemma: A History of British Columbia’s Social Policy (UBC Press); Maria Tippett: Made in British Columbia: Eight Ways of Making Culture (Harbour).


Jean Barman

2015 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize

Winner: Jean Barman: French Canadians, Fur, and Indigenous Women in the Making of the Pacific Northwest (UBC Press)

Shortlist: Nancy J. Turner: Ancient Pathways, Ancestral Knowledge: Ethnohistory and the Ecological Wisdom of Indigenous Peoples of Northwestern North America (McGill-Queen’s). Richard Beamish and Gordon Macfarlane, eds.: The Sea Among Us: the Amazing Strait of Georgia (Harbour).


David Stouck

David Stouck

2014 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize

Winner: David Stouck: Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life (Douglas & McIntyre).

Shortlist: Robin Kathleen Wright, Daina Augaitis, Robert Davidson, James Hart: Charles Edenshaw (Black Dog Publishing); Sean Kheraj: Inventing Stanley Park: An Environmental History (UBC Press).



Derek Hayes

Derek Hayes

2013 Inaugural Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize

Winner: Derek Hayes: British Columbia: A New Historical Atlas (Douglas & McIntyre).

Shortlist: Jim McDowell:Father August Brabant: Saviour or Scourge? (Ronsdale Press); Sandra Djwa: Journey with No Maps: A Life of P. K. Page (McGill-Queen’s University Press)



Dedicated to the memory of Basil Stuart-Stubbs, a University Librarian and scholar, the annual book prize recognizes outstanding scholarly books on British Columbia. Visit about.library.ubc.ca/awards for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • About Us

    BC BookLook is an independent website dedicated to continuously promoting the literary culture of British Columbia.