Alan Twigg’s tribute to Rudolf Vrba

Rudolf Vrba, who escaped Auschwitz and co-authored a report saving 200,000 lives, remains unrecognized in Vancouver despite his significant historical impact. Alan Twigg (l.) seeks to change this.” FULL STORY


Brons earns second shortlist nod

May 22nd, 2015

Janet Brons’ debut novel A Quiet Kill is a finalist for the Kobo Emerging Writer Prize. The shortlist was announced May 20th. This is the inaugural year for the annual $10,000 award that recognizes debut authors in literary fiction, nonfiction, and genre fiction. The prize will highlight a different genre each year, and the committee chose to feature mysteries published in 2014 for its first year.

Brons, Janet striped shirt

Janet Brons

“I’m thrilled and honoured to be shortlisted for this award,” said Brons upon the announcement. “It’s particularly exciting given this is the first year that Kobo has run this competition, and I’m delighted to have made the list!”

A Quiet Kill (TouchWood Editions, 2014) is the first instalment in Janet Brons’ Forsyth and Hay mystery series. The head of the Canadian High Commission’s trade section is found brutally murdered in the Official Residence in London, England. Scotland Yard’s Detective Chief Inspector Stephen Hay is called in to investigate, while Royal Canadian Mounted Police Inspector Liz Forsyth is dispatched from Ottawa. Paired up for the first time, the two investigators wade into the murky waters of the diplomatic community and navigate through a melee of international conspiracy, militant nationalism, and murder.

Before taking to crime writing, Brons worked as a foreign affairs consultant following a seventeen-year career in the Canadian foreign service with postings in Kuala Lumpur, Warsaw, and Moscow. Brons has always enjoyed mysteries and, following an exciting career, thought it would be interesting to try her hand at writing one. She lives in Sidney, BC.
A Quiet Kill was shortlisted alongside debut novels by Steve Burrows, John Jantunen, Jack Soren, and Sam Wiebe. Ian Hamilton, author of the Ava Lee novels, will judge the category, and winners will be announced June 7.
Brons’ debut has also been shortlisted for the Best First Crime Novel by the Arthur Ellis Awards. Winners will be announced at the Arthur Ellis Awards Gala on May 28 in Toronto.
Visit to learn more about Janet Brons and A Quiet Kill.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • About Us

    BC BookLook is an independent website dedicated to continuously promoting the literary culture of British Columbia.