R.I.P. Alice Munro (1931 – 2024)

“Compared to Anton Chekhov for her peerless short stories for which she won a Nobel Prize for Literature in 2013, Alice Munro (left) has died.FULL STORY


Stuart-Stubbs: Call for Submissions

September 20th, 2018



Established in memory of Basil Stuart-Stubbs, this annual prize recognizes the best scholarly book published on a British Columbia topic by a Canadian author.

Sponsored by the University of British Columbia Library and Pacific BookWorld News Society, the award honours the exemplary career of Basil Stuart-Stubbs (1930-2012), who served as University Librarian at UBC for 17 years (1964-1981) and Director of the School of Library, Archival and Information Studies (1981-1992).

The winning author or editor(s) need not be currently associated with an institution of higher learning, but the content of the work must exhibit high standards of research, diligence and originality. The winning book can published from anywhere in the world between January 2018 and December 2018. For more information about the prize and previous winners, visit:  https://support.library.ubc.ca/giving/basilbookprize

Deadline for submissions is December 15th (or, if published later in the year, notification that it will arrive subsequently.) There is no entry fee. Applicants simply send three copies of the book for consideration.

The $2,500.00 prize will be presented at a reception hosted by UBC Library in 2019.


Basil Stuart-Stubbs Book Prize

UBC University Librarian’s Office

Irving K. Barber Learning Centre
202A – 1961 East Mall | Vancouver BC | V6T 1Z1 Canada


For further info, contact (604) 822-5142. Or email: stacy.campbell@ubc.ca

For a biographical and bibliographic summary of Basil Stuart-Stubbs, visit www.abcbookworld.com or www.bcbookawards.ca

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • About Us

    BC BookLook is an independent website dedicated to continuously promoting the literary culture of British Columbia.