Fertig’s new poems

“Poet, publisher and long-time supporter of the writing community, Salt Spring Island-based Mona Fertig (left) has released her first collection of poems in 14 years.” FULL STORY


SCWES Book Award winners

August 16th, 2023

Founded by the Sunshine Coast Writers and Editors Association, organizers for the inaugural SCWES Book Awards for BC Authors have announced the 2023 winners.

Prize winners were awarded $100 each, plus 100 stickers for their books.

Congratulations to the following authors and their publishers:

Graphic Novels & Illustrated Books

First Prize:
Vicky Earle, Exploring Vancouver Naturehoods (Midtown Press)

Honourable Mention:
Michael Kluckner, The Rooming House (Midtown Press)

Peggy Janicki. Photo Gracie Kelly

Children’s & Young Adult Books
First Prize (five-way tie):
Rachelle Delany, The Big Sting (Tundra)
Naomi Klein & Rebecca Steffoff, How to Change Everything (Tundra)
Xiran Jay Zhao, Iron Widow (Penguin Teen Canada)
Peggy Janicki, The Secret Pocket (Orca Books)
Dr. D. Hayden, The Eyes of the Leopard (Selfpublished)

Madeline Kloepper, Outside Art (Tundra)
Susin Neilsen, Tremendous Things (Penguin Random House)

Indigenous Voices
First Prize:
Jody Wilson-Raybould (pictured above right), True Reconciliation (McClelland & Stewart)

Honourable Mention:
Michelle Poirier Brown, You Might Be Sorry You Read This (U. of Alberta Press)

Diverse Voices
First Prize:
Catherine McNeil, emily & elspeth (Caitlin Press)

First Prize (for self-published Diverse Voices):

Sharon Easton, Beach Moose & Amber: Finding My Jewish History (SelfPublished)


Tolu Oloruntoba

First Prize (tie):
Tolu Oloruntoba, Each One a Furnace (McClelland & Stewart)
Cynthia Sharp, Ordinary Light (Selfpublished)

Honourable Mention
Nancy Holmes, Aborophobia (U. of Alberta Press)
Susan Musgrave, Exculpatory Lilies (McClelland & Stewart)

First Prize:
Vince R. Ditrich, The Liquor Vicar (Dundurn Press)

Honourable Mention:
Douglas Coupland, Binge (Random House Canada)

First Prize (tie):
Barbara Black, Music from a Strange Planet (Caitlin Press)
Ulla Hackanson, Flight Across the Waters (Selfpublished)

Honourable Mention:
Carrie Mac, Last Winter (Random House)

First Prize:
Lyn Baldwin, Drawing Botany: A Rooted Life (Rocky Mountain Books)

Honourable Mentions:
John Vaillant, Fire Weather (Knopf Canada)
Suzanne Simard, Finding the Mother Tree (Penguin Canada)

Sunshine Coast Voices

Theresa Kishkan

First Prize (tie):
Theresa Kishkan, Blue Portugal (U. of Alberta Press)
David Phillips, Poems (Selfpublished)

Honourable Mention:

Heather Conn, No Letter in Your Pocket: How a Daughter Chose Love and Forgiveness to Heal from Incest (Guernica Press)



The SCWES Book Awards for BC Authors are:
Open to all BC residents
Open to both traditionally and selfpublished books

In 2023, 25 judges adjudicated 116 entries from publishers across Canada.

The judges for the event included:
Dr. Marion McKinnon Crook GovernorGeneral awardwinning author of
Always Pack a Candle
Christina Myers Author of List of Last Chances
Michael Gurney Arts & Culture Editor, Coast Reporter
Jana Curll Map Illustrator & Children’s’ Book Illustrator & Author
Fran Bourassa Writer and Educator
Theresa Kishkan Author
Jan DeGrass Author
Isabella Mori Poet
Jana Curll Illustrator & Childrens Book Author
Paula O’Brien Artist

Next year’s contest opens on February 1 st , 2024. For more information, go to: https://www.scwes.ca/contests

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • About Us

    BC BookLook is an independent website dedicated to continuously promoting the literary culture of British Columbia.