R.I.P. Alice Munro (1931 – 2024)

“Compared to Anton Chekhov for her peerless short stories for which she won a Nobel Prize for Literature in 2013, Alice Munro (left) has died.FULL STORY


2022 Bressani Literary Prize

March 10th, 2021

The Association of Italian-Canadian Writers (AICW) has announced the 2022 edition of the biennial F.G. Bressani Literary Prize. The following categories are eligible: Fiction, Poetry, Non-Fiction and First Book.

There are $1000 prizes for poetry (for a collection of at least 20 poems), fiction (minimum 50 pages) and short fiction (minimum 8000 characters). A fourth “special category” prize has been given out since 2006.

Authors are invited to submit their works no later than August 31, 2021.

The Call for Submissions is available at: www.aicw.ca


Past B.C. winners include:

-Eufemia Fantetti (pictured at right) in 2014 for her short fiction Sweets
-Lynne Bowen in 2012 for her creative non-fiction Whatever Gives Us Bread
-Pasquale Verdicchio in 2010 for his poetry collection This Nothing’s Place
-Victoria Miles in 2008 for her novel Magnifico



The Italian Cultural Centre Society of Vancouver created the Francesco Giuseppe Bressani Literary Prize in 1986. Awarded every other year, the prize honours and promotes Canadian writers of Italian descent.

Works are eligible if published from January 1 of one year to March 31 of the next year. Submissions must be from Canadian citizens or permanent residents 16 years or older who have at least one parent or grandparent born in Italy, and can be in Italian, English or French.

The Prize is named after the Italian Jesuit missionary Francesco Guiseppe Bressani. The prize was discontinued in 1995, but the Italian Cultural Centre appointed a new F.G. Bressani Committee in 2000 when it was reinstated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • About Us

    BC BookLook is an independent website dedicated to continuously promoting the literary culture of British Columbia.