Alan Twigg’s tribute to Rudolf Vrba

Rudolf Vrba, who escaped Auschwitz and co-authored a report saving 200,000 lives, remains unrecognized in Vancouver despite his significant historical impact. Alan Twigg (l.) seeks to change this.” FULL STORY


WIBA 2023 shortlist

June 01st, 2023

The shortlisted nominees for the 2023 Whistler Independent Book Awards (WIBA)  are:

The fiction nominees are:

Renny DeGroot for Heritage House
Marion Ehrenberg for The Language of Dreams
Jill MacLean for The Arrows of Mercy
Bernice Santos for Ghosts of a Cure
Anne M. Smith-Nochasak for The Ice Widow
Tom Stewart for Immortal North

The non-fiction nominees are:

Eleanor Boyle for Mobilize Food! Wartime Inspiration for
Environmental Victory Today

Marilyn Carr for Nowhere Like This Place: Tales from a Nuclear Childhood
Bob Henderson and Sean Blenkinsop (editors) for Paddling Pathways: Reflections from a Changing Landscape
Chief Robert Joseph for Namwayut: A Pathway to Reconciliation
Karin Konoval for On Constance
Brendyn Zachary for The Backpacker Lifecycle

The children’s nominees are:

Lana de Bastiani (illustrations Janet Lacey ) for The Fox and My Boot
H. Pham-Fraser (illustrations Akemi) for The Little Girl
Helen Row Toews for The Legacy: Volume Three of the Runstaff Chronicles
Paul Shore and Deborah Katz Henriquez (illustrations Prashant Miranda) for Steve and Eve Save the Planet: I Can Hear Your Heart Beep
Troy Townsin (illustrations Trish Glab) for Cressie
Rud Verhagen for The Last Green Dragon



Established in 2016 to recognize excellence in Canadian self-publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards offers prizes in three categories: fiction, non-fiction and children’s books. There are six finalists in each category, and the winners are announced at the annual Whistler Writers Festival.

The Whistler Independent Book Awards are sponsored by The Writers’ Union of Canada.

Jointly administered by the Whistler Writing Society, Canadian Authors and Vivalogue Publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards (WIBAs) provide independent authors with the opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process typically reserved for trade-published titles.

To support independent authors, this competition provides each and every book with a valuable, constructive critique of the submission, which can be quoted for publicity and promotional purposes.

The Writers' Union of CanadaThe Whistler Independent Book awards are sponsored by the Writers’ Union of Canada, the national organization of professionally published authors. Now over 2,100 members strong, the Union was founded in 1973 to work with governments, publishers, booksellers, and readers to improve the conditions of Canadian writers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • About Us

    BC BookLook is an independent website dedicated to continuously promoting the literary culture of British Columbia.