Williams and Robinson

Giller Prize-winner Ian Williams (l.) will be in conversation with the U.S.’s Pulitzer Prize-winning Marilyn Robinson on writing craft, themes and the power of fiction at the Vancouver Writers Fest. FULL STORY

2020 Victoria Book Prizes

September 10th, 2020

The finalists have been announced for the 2020 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize and Children’s Book Prize.

In its 17th year, the $5,000 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize is awarded to a Greater Victoria author for the best book published in the previous year (the genre can be fiction, non-fiction or poetry).

The five finalists are:
Lorna Crozier (poetry) – The House the Spirit Builds (Douglas & McIntyre)
Carla Funk (non-fiction) – Every Little Scrap and Wonder: A Small-Town Childhood (Greystone)
Christin Geall (non-fiction) – Cultivated: The Elements of Floral Style (Princeton Architectural Press)
Carey Newman & Kirstie Hudson (non-fiction) – Picking Up the Pieces: Residential School Memories and the Making of the Witness Blanket (Orca Book Publishers)
Steven Price (fiction) – Lampedusa (McClelland & Stewart)

In its 13th year, the $5,000 City of Victoria Children’s Book Prize is awarded to a Greater Victoria author or illustrator for the best children’s book published in the previous year.

The three finalists are:
Sara Cassidy – Nevers (Orca Book Publishers)
Mark Leiren-Young – Orcas Everywhere: The Mystery and History of Killer Whales (Orca Book Publishers)
Sylvia Olsen & Odelia Smith – Neekah’s Knitting Needles (Sono Nis Press)

The winners will be announced at a free online event, hosted by CBC host Gregor Craigie, on Sunday, October 4 at 7:00 p.m. as part of the Victoria Festival of Authors. Tickets are free but must be reserved in advance via the Victoria Book Prizes website, victoriabookprizes.ca.


Founded in 2004, the City of Victoria Butler Book Prize is a partnership between the City of Victoria and Brian Butler of Butler Brothers Supplies. The Children’s Book Prize recognizes and celebrates exceptional children’s and youth literature in our community. The prize was established in 2008 by the late Mel Bolen of Bolen Books.


  • About Us

    BC BookLook is an independent website dedicated to continuously promoting the literary culture of British Columbia.